Funko DC Legion of Collectors – January 2018 “Teen Titans” Unboxing

Image Courtesy of DC Comics

Check out our unboxing of Funko’s Legion of Collectors January 2018 “Teen Titans” box which contains exclusive collectible items.

Funko celebrates DC’s heroic youths with their January 2018 box dedicated to the Teen Titans. And it’s not just any incarnation … it’s the most famous one from the 1980s. Funko couldn’t have found a better time to bring attention to these characters as 2018 will be the TeenTitans’ year. We have the live-action Titans and Young Justice Season 3 both debuting in the next twelve months. Yep, there’s a lot to celebrate!

The Teen Titans made their debut in The Brave and the Bold #54 (July 1964). However, it wasn’t until The New Teen Titans (debuting in 1980) that we got the most familiar incarnation—the team led by Dick Grayson, who just became Nightwing. Throughout the years, like all superhero teams, the roster has changed, but the characters have remained fascinating.

Join us as we unbox this bit of history and take a look at the young side of DC!

WARNING: SPOILERS AHEAD

Photo Credit: Steve Lam

The Unboxing!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Opening the box, we’re presented with Funko’s packing slip and it’s advertising of the next Legion of Collectors offering—The Green Lantern Corps! Removing that, we’re immediately greeted with a plethora of goodies—some are obscured by others. Taking out the t-shirt, we see the back of this month’s comic book. Taking out the Pop! figure, we also find a very colorful Cyborg patch. After emptying everything, we get a good look at the box’s interior design—illustrations from the Teen Titans’ 1980s appearance.

The Details!

Legion of Collectors “Teen Titans” Packing Slip

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The packing slip shows the construction of the various offerings for this month’s box. Funko has been trying some different things, so it’s interesting to see how they conceptualized and developed this box. However, the real surprise is on the other side of the packing slip—an advertisement for March 2018’s box—The Green Lantern Corps. I can’t wait to see what they’ll be shipping in that box. Fingers crossed that it’s two Pop!s—Hal Jordan and John Stewart.

Legion of Collectors “Teen Titans” Cyborg Patch

Photo Credit: Steve Lam

I was quite impressed with this month’s patch, even more than other patches. It is absolutely eye-catching. Cyborg’s likeness is perfectly captured and the big, bold, heroic lettering for “Teen Titans” is perfect. The colors and the overall design is a beautiful homage to the fun, colorful days when the Teen Titans were first introduced.

Legion of Collectors “Teen Titans” Comic Book

Photo Credit: Steve Lam

The comic book makes a comeback in this month’s box. It’s a Teen Titans comic with a very exclusive special Phil Jimenez-illustrated cover. It’s a modern style of art which pays homage to these classic heroes. I can’t believe the 1980s are that far behind us that I need to use the word “classic.”

Legion of Collectors “Teen Titans” Beast Boy T-Shirt

Photo Credit: Steve Lam

What Funko box wouldn’t be complete without a t-shirt? Funko seems to have stepped away a bit from their Pop!-ified characters as the main design. It’s a nice change. I love the Pop! look and love this style also. It’s all about keeping a good variety. Here, we have Beast Boy in his glorious green with some supplemental art showing his evolution. Very cool.

Legion of Collectors “Teen Titans” Nightwing Action Figure

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This month, it’s a return to action figures. First up, we get Dick Grayson in his original Nightwing suit. I like to call this “Disco Nightwing.” The raised collar and the deep v-neck really date his costume. Who am I kidding? If anybody can pull this off, it would be Dick Grayson. I’m glad Rebirth brought back the primary blue and black tones of Nightwing’s suit.

Legion of Collectors “Teen Titans” Raven Action Figure

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

In addition to the Nightwing action figure, we get a Raven action figure. Both figures are housed in very collectible bubble packaging. The cardboard backings of each one are pristine and designed like they’re from the early ’80s. I’m really liking these figures. Funko should create a figure for every DC character.

Legion of Collectors “Teen Titans” Pop! Heroes DC Super Heroes 202 Nightwing

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

And the moment we’ve been waiting for … the Nightwing Pop! figure. As always, Funko, even though they have a standard Pop! look, has been able to bring out the essence of this character. The paint is very neat and the sculpt is crisp and clean—just like Dick Grayson himself, arguably the most beloved of all of Batman’s sidekicks.

Pop! figures aren’t known to have prominent necks for their heads, but Funko was able to still squeeze in Nightwing’s popped (pun intended) collar on this figure. Very nicely done, Funko!

Final Round-Up

Funko gives fans another unique offering with Legion of Collectors’ January 2018 “Teen Titans” box. With a focus mostly on Nightwing (hey, I’m definitely not complaining—he’s one of my most favorite characters), the company gives us two action figures and a Pop! in terms of “big” items. The colorful Cyborg patch is beautifully designed and will grab anyone’s attention—fan or layman.

Funko did a great job in honoring the young side of DC. They could’ve gone with a more recent incarnation of the team, but the company did right by fans with a focus on the more classic, well-known team.

More Funko: DC Legion of Collectors – November 2017 “Justice League” Unboxing

Not convinced yet? Due to the items being exclusive and unique to this offering, we’re going to do a theoretical breakdown in price using comparable items found on Amazon and Ebay:

  • “Teen Titans” Cyborg Patch: $4.00–$5.00
  • “Teen Titans” Beast Boy T-Shirt: $15.00–$25.00
  • “Teen Titans” Comic Book: $2.99–$3.99
  • “Teen Titans” Nightwing Action Figure: $14.00–$16.00
  • “Teen Titans” Raven Action Figure: $14.00–$16.00
  • “Teen Titans” Pop! Heroes DC Super Heroes 202 Nightwing: $15.00–$40.00

Using the lower-end of the pricing, all items add up to be $64.99.

Photo Credit: Steve Lam

This was another fun offering from Funko. I’m definitely looking forward to March 2018’s “The Green Lantern Corps” box. I hope we get two Pop!s for the next one, or at least a large Dorbz.

A special thanks to Funko Marketing Manager Yoko McCann for helping us with this review.

Disclosure: The Fanboy Review was provided with a free January 2018 DC Legion of Collectors box for the purposes of this review.

About Steve Lam 47 Articles
The first superhero Steve ever saw was Christopher Reeve's Superman in 1978. Steve was only a year old and couldn't really appreciate history being made. Little did he know at the time, the seed was already planted—which would grow into a lifelong obsession with superheroes and comics. Today, Steve also adds science fiction, horror, and movies to his repertoire of nerdy fanaticism. His dream is to one day sell his novel or screenplay.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*